Manu Chao Announces Solo Album ‘Viva Tu’ With Single ‘São Paulo Motoboy’

Manu Chao dropped “São Paulo Motoboy,” the second single from his upcoming album Viva Tu on Wednesday (June 26). The set marks his first solo studio effort in nearly 17 years, since La Radiolina arrived in September 2007. Named the same as his whimsical rumba song and lead single, “Viva Tu” released in May, the album is set to arrive on Sept. 20.

Sung in Portuguese, the nomadic, electronic-tinged guitar ballad is an homage to the bikers and deliver people of São Paulo, Brazil who risk their lives daily navigating the vast city on their motorcycles. Its accompanying music video, which drops today at 12 p.m. ET, explores the daily lives of “motoboys” in São Paulo, following a particular motorcyclist who rides with the slogan “Carregando Justiça Nas Costas,” meaning “carrying justice on our backs.”

“São Paulo is a breathing beast. And the couriers are the blood running through its veins, keeping it alive,” said Manu Chao in a press release. Before achieving global fame, the France-born, Spanish-descended superstar worked as a courier himself in Paris.

As for the upcoming album, Viva Tu will feature 13 new songs inspired by his journeys and everyday experiences, sung in Spanish, French, Portuguese and English. It includes contributions from legendary artists such as Willie Nelson on “Heaven’s Bad Day” and French singer Laeti on “Tu Te Vas.”

Since La Radiolina — which reached No. 71 on the Billboard 200 and No. 1 on the Top Latin Albums and Latin Pop Albums charts in 2007 — Manu released a string of singles years later, collaborating with Bomba Estéreo (2022’s “Me Duele”), Rumbakana (2023’s “Déjame”), Dani Lança (2020’s “Acontecer”) and more. He has also participated in social causes such as Playing for Change and The Dharavi Dream Project.

Viva Tu will be available on CD, vinyl and digital format.

Listen to “São Paulo Motoboy” and check out the album’s track list below:

  1. “Vecinos En El Mar”
  2. “La Couleur du Temps”
  3. “River Why”
  4. “Viva Tu”
  5. “Heaven’s Bad Day” feat. Willie Nelson
  6. “Tu Te Vas” feat. Laeti
  7. “Coração No Mar”
  8. “Cuatro Calles”
  9. “La Colilla”
  10. “São Paulo Motoboy”
  11. “Tom et Lola”
  12. “Lonely Night”
  13. “Tantas Tierra”

Powered by Billboard.

Related Articles

Back to top button