Keith Urban Announces New Album ‘High,’ Shares First Single ‘Wildside’

Keith Urban is back with some exciting news — his new album High is set to drop on Sept. 20, marking his first release in nearly four years.

High follows 2020’s The Speed of Now Part 1. which peaked at No. 7 on the Billboard 200, one of his eight top 10 appearances on the chart, a tally that includes two leaders. The new collection follows Urban’s musical journey while simultaneously exploring themes of human connection, what it is to be alive, cutting loose, hope, nostalgia, shredding solos, straight-up fun, and some personal life revelations.

“I’ve always been drawn toward the subject of living in the moment, because it’s all there is, and it’s hard to do,” said Urban of his latest project. “And these days with so much ‘content’ flying at us, it can feel like drinking from a fire hose.”

To give fans a taste of what’s to come, Urban has also released the new single “Wildside”.

Inspired by Joan Cusack’s character in School of Rock, the song is a fun, party anthem. “She’s the principal of a school by day, all prim and proper,” Urban said. “And then, a few tequilas at night and all bets are off.”

He explained the inspiration behind the album’s title, High. “What makes you ‘high’ can mean whatever you want it to mean,” the singer said.

“It might be physical, spiritual, herbal, meditative, chemical, or musical, but it’s definitely a place of utopia.”

For Urban, those highs come from his family, friends, and the thrill of playing live music. “Playing guitar, writing songs and the place where I always feel high – playing live. Every night I get a chance to bring an energy and a release to people.”

However, creating High wasn’t all smooth sailing.

Urban shared that his hectic 2022 tour schedule made it tough to maintain a cohesive sound. “There was no continuity. The songs didn’t work well together. I learned that what I thought was a framework to create within, turned out to be musically limiting.”

The forthcoming album features a variety of tracks, each with its own unique vibe and story. Besides “Wildside,” High includes songs like “Straight Line,” “Go Home W U” featuring Lainey Wilson, and the current radio single “Messed Up As Me.”

Urban’s career is still on fire. This year, he was inducted into the Nashville Songwriter’s Hall of Fame by Dolly Parton, returned to American Idol as a mentor and performer, and rocked stages at big events like the Formula One Heineken Silver Las Vegas Grand Prix.

His Las Vegas residency at the Bakkt Theater at Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino has been a huge hit, proving once again why he’s one of the best live performers around.

Urban’s High is available for pre-order now. Check out the High tracklist below.

High Track Listing:

  1. “Blue Sky (Prelude)”
  2. “Straight Line”
  3. “Messed Up As Me”
  4. “Wildside”
  5. “Go Home W U (With Lainey Wilson)”
  6. “Chuck Taylors”
  7. “Daytona”
  8. “Love Is Hard”
  9. “Heart Like A Hometown”
  10. “Laughin’ All The Way To The Drank”
  11. “Dodge In A Silverado”
  12. “Break The Chain”

Powered by Billboard.

Related Articles

Back to top button