Jamie xx Announces His First New Album In 9 Years: ‘I Am So Unbelievably Happy’

The long-awaited followup to Jamie xx‘s debut album is now a reality. On Tuesday (June 4), the British producer announced that his sophomore studio LP, In Waves, will be released via his own Young label on Sept. 20.

The 12-track album will follow xx’s debut solo album, In Colour, which was released in May of 2015 to broad critical acclaim. Containing classics including the Young Thug and Popcaan collab “I Know There’s Gonna Be (Good Times)” and “Loud Places” with his bandmate from The xx, Romy, the album spent five weeks on the Billboard 200, peaking at No. 21 in June of 2015.

The album announcement comes in tandem with a new single, “Treat Each Other Right.” The cerebral dance-floor heater comes with a music video directed by Rosie Marks. This is the second single from In Waves, following May’s “Baddy on the Floor” with Honey Dijon.

Jamie xx shared on Instagram Tuesday the indeed very wavy album artwork and wrote, “My new album, In Waves will be out on September 20th. I am so unbelievably happy. It’s been a while…and a lot has happened in that time. Ups and downs, growing up, figuring stuff out and then forgetting it all many times over. Life changing events and world changing events. These waves that we have all experienced together and alone.

“I wanted to make something fun, joyful and introspective all at once. The best moments on a dance floor are usually that for me. I can’t wait to share it with you.”

To that end, the producer’s summer and fall tour schedule includes festival sets at Glastonbury, Pitchfork Music Festival in Chicago, HARD Summer in Los Angeles, Portola in San Francisco and III Points in Miami.

Check out “Treat Each Other Right” below:

Powered by Billboard.

Related Articles

Back to top button