Country Music Association Reveals Recipients for 14th Triple Play Awards

The Country Music Association has revealed the recipients of the 14th annual CMA Triple Play Awards, which celebrate songwriters who write three No. 1 songs within a 12-month period, based on Billboard‘s Country Airplay and Hot Country Songs charts, as well as the Country Aircheck chart.

This year features seven honorees: Ashley Gorley (a three-time recipient this year, for contributing to nine No. 1 hits over the 12-month period), Charlie Handsome, Jelly Roll, Chase McGill, Hunter Phelps, Jordan Schmidt and Thomas Rhett. Celebrating their first CMA Triple Play Award wins this year are Jelly Roll and Schmidt. Gorley remains the most decorated recipient, receiving his 21st, 22nd and 23rd CMA Triple Play Awards. 

Chairman/CEO of Universal Music Publishing Group Nashville, and CMA Board member Troy Tomlinson will be feted with the CMA songwriter advocate award, which honors an individual who has made significant contributions and dedicated their life to supporting and advancing the careers of songwriters and the art of songwriting. Among the artists Tomlinson has championed are Kelsea Ballerini, Casey Beathard, Luke Bryan, Kenny Chesney, Eric Church, Dean Dillon, Tom Douglas, Miranda Lambert, Willie Nelson, Dolly Parton, Blake Shelton, Taylor Swift, Thomas Rhett, Hank Williams and others. Tomlinson has also served organizations including Nashville Songwriters Association International, the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum Board of Officers and Trustees, and Belmont University. 

“Since I was about six years old, songs have painted pictures that helped me both escape and embrace life,” Tomlinson said in a statement. “To have spent the past four decades supporting and advocating for the world’s greatest songwriters has been nothing less than an honor and a privilege. Being honored by CMA at this point in my life is extraordinarily rewarding and humbling.” 

The CMA Triple Play Awards will be held Monday, April 15, in Nashville, and hosted by songwriter and CMA Board member Jim Beavers.

See this year’s CMA Triple Play Award honorees, as well as the songs they are being celebrated for, below:

Jelly Roll 
“Son of a Sinner,” recorded by Jelly Roll 
“Need a Favor,” recorded by Jelly Roll 
“Save Me,” recorded by Jelly Roll featuring Lainey Wilson 

Ashley Gorley 
“She Had Me at Heads Carolina,” recorded by Cole Swindell 
“You Proof,” recorded by Morgan Wallen 
“Last Night,” recorded by Morgan Wallen 
“What He Didn’t Do,” recorded by Carly Pearce 
“Gold,” recorded by Dierks Bentley 
“Girl in Mine,” recorded by Parmalee 
“Thinkin’ Bout Me,” recorded by Morgan Wallen 
“God Gave Me a Girl,” recorded by Russell Dickerson 
“World on Fire,” recorded by Nate Smith   

Charlie Handsome 
“Wasted on You,” recorded by Morgan Wallen 
“You Proof,” recorded by Morgan Wallen 
“Last Night,” recorded by Morgan Wallen 

Chase McGill 
“With a Woman You Love,” recorded by Justin Moore 
“5 Foot 9,” recorded by Tyler Hubbard 
“Next Thing You Know,” recorded by Jordan Davis 

Hunter Phelps 
“Best Thing Since Backroads,” recorded by Jake Owen 
“New Truck,” recorded by Dylan Scott 
“Wait in the Truck,” recorded by HARDY featuring Lainey Wilson 

Jordan Schmidt 
“Wait in the Truck,” recorded by HARDY featuring Lainey Wilson 
“Bury Me in Georgia,” recorded by Kane Brown 
“Watermelon Moonshine,” recorded by Lainey Wilson 

Thomas Rhett 
“Half of Me,” recorded by Thomas Rhett featuring Riley Green 
“Angels (Don’t Always Have Wings),” recorded by Thomas Rhett 
“Stars Like Confetti,” recorded by Dustin Lynch 

Powered by Billboard.

Related Articles

Back to top button