Music

2024 ACM Awards: Snubs & Surprises

As the final nominations for the 2024 Academy of Country Music Awards were announced Tuesday morning (April 9), there were the usual number of expected names, as well as a handful of surprises and snubs.

Luke Combs leads all nominees with eight nods, and should he win entertainer of the year, he will clinch the Triple Crown Award — bestowed upon acts who, in addition to having won entertainer, have also taken home the trophy for new artist and artist in their eligible categories. Only a handful of artists have snagged the Triple Crown, including Chris Stapleton, Miranda Lambert, Jason Aldean, Carrie Underwood and Kenny Chesney.

Both Megan Moroney and Morgan Wallen received six nominations, with Cody Johnson, Chris Stapleton and Lainey Wilson garnering five nods each.

Tracy Chapman joins the first-timers’ club, scoring her first nod for writing song of the year nominee “Fast Car,” performed by Combs. Another first time nominee is Morgane Stapleton, who is nominated as a producer on her husband Chris Stapleton’s album, Higher, which received an album of the year nod.

The eligibility period for nominations runs Jan. 1, 2023-December 31, 2023, which means fans will have to wait another year to see if current Country Albums chart topper Cowboy Carter from Beyoncé is nominated, since the crossover set was released in March.

The ACM Awards will stream live across 240+ countries and territories on Prime Video on May 16 at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT/5 p.m. PT from Ford Center at The Star in Frisco, Texas. Here is a look at some of the year’s notable surprises and snubs.

DCP is owned by Penske Media Eldridge, a Penske Media Corporation (PMC) subsidiary and joint venture between PMC and Eldrige. PMC is the parent company of Billboard.

Powered by Billboard.

Related Articles

Back to top button