SportsSU Women's Lacrosse

Tyrrell Named Tewaaraton Finalist

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Syracuse graduate student Meaghan Tyrrell is a finalist for the 2023 Tewaaraton Award, which is presented annually to the top female and male lacrosse players in the nation. The list of five finalists was announced by the Tewaaraton Foundation on Thursday, May 11.
Tyrrell, who was also a finalist last season, becomes the third player in program history to be named a finalist twice in her career, joining Alyssa Murray (2013-14) and Kayla Treanor (2014-15-16). Katie Rowan was the Orange’s first Tewaaraton Award finalist in 2008 followed by Michelle Tumolo in 2012.
A Mt. Sinai, N.Y. native, Tyrrell ranks second in the nation in points per game (5.33), third in points (96), fifth in assists (47) and sixth in assists per game (2.89). She was voted the ACC Attacker of the Year and earned All-ACC First Team and ACC All-Tournament Team honors. Tyrrell recorded five or more points in 11 of 18 games this season, which included an 11-point performance in the win against Maryland. She was a two-time ACC and IWLCA Offensive Player of the Week honoree.
Tyrrell ranks as one of the top point scorers in Division I history. She currently ranks ninth on the all-time points list with 404, one point behind Abby Hormes (High Point) and two behind Courtney Murphy (Stony Brook). Tyrrell is the first Syracuse player to record 400 or more points in her career. She also ranks third on the Orange’s career goals list (251) and second in career assists (153).
The list of finalists for the women’s Tewaaraton Award include Tyrrell, Northwestern’s Erin Coykendall and Izzy Scane, Boston College’s Jenn Medjid and James Madison’s Isabella Peterson.
The Tewaaraton recipients will be chosen at the conclusion of the 2023 season by a selection committee of college coaches who are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation. This year’s winners will be announced at the Tewaaraton Ceremony on June 1 in Washington, D.C.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button